Evangelical Christianity Needs to Take a Good Look at Itself

Honestly, the way that many of my friends and fellow Christians have been conducting themselves in the past few months honestly makes my skin crawl. Between the support of the absolutely deplorable politics of Trump, or the reaction to Jen Hatmaker saying “Hey, maybe we shouldn’t tell LGBT+ people that they’re not inherently going to hell based on who they are, and maybe we’re mistaken about homosexual relationships.” you’d think that the message of Christ was “Take advantage of everyone you can, enrich yourself at the expense of the poorest among you, degrade those that are unlike you, and don’t love your neighbor.” Which, maybe I’m missing some lessons from my youth, but I don’t remember that being taught in the kids department. Granted, that would probably be a better message for many people that claim the mantel of “Evangelical Christianity”, but that’s not what Jesus said now is it?

What was it that Jesus actually said? Something like, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” “Take care of those less fortunate than you.” “Don’t judge others or you will be judged the same.” Personally I feel that last one might be the most pertinent for many of my fellow Christians. Especially those that choose to judge Hillary Clinton by the actions of her husband (who she clearly has completely under her control since she’s a witch, or is it because she’s in league with Satan? I can’t keep up with the inanity these days.) but yet excuse Donald’s many, many, many, many, many, many, many, instances of cheating contractors, misogyny, racism, xenophobia, hatred, and oh yeah, HIS MANY FASCIST TENDENCIES! He has literal Neo-Nazis and the KKK supporting him. If that doesn’t tell you that maybe you shouldn’t be supporting him. I don’t know about you, but if I’m on the same side of the KKK, I would take a good long look at why that may be the case.

And I hear you over there my Christian Libertarians “I’m voting for Gary Johnson! I’m absolved of any of this!” Sit down. The Libertarian Party’s plans are horrible for the least of us. If that phrase sounds familiar it’s because it’s a paraphrase of Matthew 25:39 (ESV) “Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.” The idea that the Libertarian Party’s platform is better than the current GOP platform is laughable. The only good thing about their platform is that they care about civil rights. Their economic policies and ideas about government are horrible for the country and horrible for people that aren’t rich white guys.

So right now Evangelical Christianity has to come to a conclusion. Do they continue on this path and eventually, in my opinion, lead themselves into irrelevancy and eventual oblivion? Or do they repudiate the Fascist candidate their party nominated and hope that they can try to regain any respect they may have had from the public at large. Because at this point the way that they are going, we’re looking at an increasingly irrelevant church that doesn’t attract new converts.

Leave a Reply

